Barry Preston Award

Established Researcher Award


The Barry Preston Award recognises an outstanding leader in the matrix biology field distinguished by a sustained record of achievement, commitment to mentoring junior researchers and exceptional communication skills.


This award is named after Barry Preston who made contributions to the understanding of the transport and properties of extracellular matrix molecules. He was an enthusiastic teacher and mentor to younger researchers. He established the Connective Tissue Society of Australia and New Zealand, as MBSANZ was then known, in 1975 and was the inaugural president.

Eligibility requirements

Any Australian or New Zealand researcher in the matrix biology field currently at a national or international research institution who exemplifies the same passion for discovery and mentorship that Barry typified is eligible to be nominated. The awardee must be available to deliver a plenary lecture at the society conference on their research.

Application Requirements

A call for nominations for this award will occur prior to a society meeting. Current members of the Society may nominate candidates for this award by providing a supporting statement and brief CV for the nominee. The awardee will deliver a plenary lecture at the society conference on their research.


Award review committee

The award is determined by the selection committee chaired by the President.

Male Speaker

Helvetica Light is an easy to read font, with tall and narrow letters, that works well on almost every site.


2021 Awardee

Michael Samuel is Professor of Matrix Biology and Head of the Tumour Microenvironment Laboratory at the Centre for Cancer Biology, an alliance between SA Pathology and the University of South Australia. Michael is internationally recognised for his research on the tumour microenvironment. His research seeks to identify the mechanisms by which tumours remodel their microenvironments to promote tumour progression, with a view to uncovering new approaches to interfering with this process. Michael has received numerous awards for his research. In the spirit of this award, Michael has a strong track record of ECR mentoring with many of his trainees progressing to postdoctoral careers in academia or industry.

Previous Awardees

2021   Michael Samuel SA Pathology & the University of South Australia
2020   Chris Parish Australian National University
2018    Matthew Hoffman  National Institutes of Health
2016     Shireen Lamande  Murdoch Children's Research Institute
2015     John Whitelock  UNSW Sydney
2014     John Ramshaw  CSIRO
2013     Tony Weiss  University of Sydney
2012     Chris Overall  University of British Columbia
2011      Rik Thompson  St Vincent's Institute
2010    Chris Little  University of Sydney
2009    Bruce Caterson  Cardiff University
2008   John Bateman  Murdoch Children's Research Institute
2007    Amanda Fosang  Murdoch Children's Research Institute
2006   Tony Poole  University of Otago
 2005  Miranda Grounds  University of Western Australia
2004   Lydia Sorokin  Lund University
2003   Jeremy Turnbull  University of Liverpool
2002   Peter Johnson  University of Sydney
2001   Veronica James  Australian National University